Books

I, COSMO

Love can teach an old dog new tricks.

Final Cosmo for reveal.jpg

A golden retriever narrates a hilarious, heart-tugging tale of a dog and his humans as he tries to keep his family together while everything around them falls apart.

Ever since Cosmo became a big brother to Max twelve years ago, he’s known what his job was: to protect his boy and make him happy. Through many good years marked by tennis balls and pilfered turkey, torn-up toilet paper and fragrant goose poop, Cosmo has doggedly kept his vow. Until recently, his biggest problems were the evil tutu-wearing sheepdog he met on Halloween and the arthritis in his own joints. But now, with Dad-scented blankets appearing on the couch and arguing voices getting louder, Cosmo senses a tougher challenge ahead.

When Max gets a crazy idea to teach them both a dance routine for a contest, how can Cosmo refuse, stiff hips or no? Max wants to remind his folks of all the great times they’ve had together dancing — and make them forget about the “d” word that’s making them all cry. Told in the open, optimistic, unintentionally humorous voice of a golden retriever, I, Cosmo will grab readers from the first page — and remind them that love and loyalty transcend whatever life throws your way.

“Like any good dog, Cosmo is so funny, friendly, and loyal that he quickly became a dear friend, so much so that when I finished reading the book, I missed hearing his voice and picturing his shaggy face. Come back, Cosmo!”—Jim Gorant, author of the New York Times bestseller The Lost Dogs

To be published by Nosy Crow in August 2019 and Walker Books US in December 2019. Other countries: Poland, Italy, France, Iceland, Georgia.

Click for US pre-order!

Click for UK pre-order!


WILD BLUE WONDER

There are two monsters in this story. One of them is me.

Wild Blue Wonder final cover.jpg

Ask anyone in Winship, Maine, and they’ll tell you the summer camp Quinn’s family owns is a magical place. Paper wishes hang from the ceiling. Blueberries grow in the dead of winter. According to local legend, a sea monster even lurks off the coast. Mostly, there’s just a feeling that something extraordinary could happen there.

Like Quinn falling in love with her best friend, Dylan.

After the accident, the magic drained from Quinn’s life. Now Dylan is gone, the camp is a lonely place, and Quinn knows it’s her fault.

But the new boy in town, Alexander, doesn’t see her as the monster she believes herself to be. As Quinn lets herself open up again, she begins to understand the truth about love, loss, and monsters—real and imagined.

A Junior Library Guild Selection

A Booklist Top 10 YA Romance of 2018

Featured in Bustle’s “The 11 Best YA Books Coming Out in June 2018”

One of Hypable’s Best Books of June 2018

A Brit + Co. Pick: “12 New Young Adult Books to Add to Your Summer Reading List”

A ParnassusNext Selection 

A Once Upon a Book Club Selection

A Bookish Box Selection

“Lovely and heartbreaking.”Jennifer E. Smith, author of Windfall

Wild Blue Wonder is a glittering dream of a book. It captured my heart with its equal strokes of grief, beauty, and hope. Like the Sawyers themselves would say, it is both magic and trueand I wanted to linger a little longer in Winship with them, hanging paper wishes from the rafters even after the final page.”Emily Bain Murphy, author of The Disappearances

“A striking examination of love—of friends, of family, of self—as well as of grief . . . This is a soft and lovely exploration of how life can freeze at the point of tragedy, and of a girl who learns to thaw.”Booklist (starred review)

“Surges with emotion. Sorosiak has created a family whom readers will connect with in all their messy, genuine sincerity.”Publishers Weekly

“Filled with science, summer camps and secrets, this is an uplifting and touching look at grief, guilt and giving yourself permission to love again.”Lauren James, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

“A beautiful story.”Bustle

“This stunning novel about love, loss, and lake monsters is just the excuse you need to splurge on a summer must-read.”Brit + Co. 

“The perfect book for lazy, hazy summer afternoons . . . With touches of magical realism grounded in hard-won emotional truths, fans of Emily Henry, Morgan Matson, and Courtney Stevens will find much to love in Wild Blue Wonder.Parnassus Books

Out with HarperTeen US & Macmillan UK now

Other languages: Spanish, German, French


IF BIRDS FLY BACK

Love is what happens when you’re looking for something else. 

IfBirdsFlyBack hi res

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye. Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father. They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for. With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord.

A Most Anticipated June Release from B&N Teen Blog

Pan Macmillan’s One of the Best Children’s Books for Summer

One of the 10 Best New Young Adult Books in June 2017 from Paste Magazine

A Featured Summer Book from Lovereading4kids

A 2017 B.I.T. Pick at Changing Hands Bookstore

Nominated for an Epic Reads Book Shimmy Award, “Under the Radar” Category

“It’s the rarest author who can pull off laugh-out-loud hilarious, profound, and breathlessly romantic, all in the most sparkling prose. That shortlist includes Rainbow Rowell, Nicola Yoon, and now, Carlie Sorosiak.”Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

Available in the following countries: US + Canada (HarperTeen); United Kingdom + Commonwealth (Macmillan); Spain (Penguin Random House); Germany (Arena Verlag); China (21st Century Books); Sweden, Norway, Finland (Stabenfeldt)


A SAMPLING OF FOREIGN COVERS

Untitled design (12).jpg