Books

I, COSMO

166603_10150164577179741_1752694_n
Me and my first golden retriever, Ralphie

Thirteen-year-old Cosmo loves the Discovery Channel, classic dance films, and most of all, his human—twelve-year-old Max Walker. Hilarious and heart-warming in equal measure, I, Cosmo is the story of one dog and his humans—and how he tries to keep a family together while everything around them falls apart.

Pre-empted in the US and Italy.

Original and engaging concept.

Beautifully written with real warmth, wit, and intelligence.

Coming in 2019 from Nosy Crow (UK), Walker Books (US), DeA Planeta (Italy), Casterman (France)

 


WILD BLUE WONDER

There are two monsters in this story. One of them is me.

 

Wild Blue Wonder final cover.jpg

Ask anyone in Winship, Maine, and they’ll tell you the summer camp Quinn’s family owns is a magical place. Paper wishes hang from the ceiling. Blueberries grow in the dead of winter. According to local legend, a sea monster even lurks off the coast. Mostly, there’s just a feeling that something extraordinary could happen there.

Like Quinn falling in love with her best friend, Dylan.

After the accident, the magic drained from Quinn’s life. Now Dylan is gone, the camp is a lonely place, and Quinn knows it’s her fault.

But the new boy in town, Alexander, doesn’t see her as the monster she believes herself to be. As Quinn lets herself open up again, she begins to understand the truth about love, loss, and monsters—real and imagined.

A Junior Library Guild Selection

A Booklist Top 10 YA Romance of 2018

Featured in Bustle’s “The 11 Best YA Books Coming Out in June 2018”

One of Hypable’s Best Books of June 2018

A Brit + Co. Pick: “12 New Young Adult Books to Add to Your Summer Reading List”

“Lovely and heartbreaking.”—Jennifer E. Smith, author of Windfall

Wild Blue Wonder is a glittering dream of a book. It captured my heart with its equal strokes of grief, beauty, and hope. Like the Sawyers themselves would say, it is both magic and trueand I wanted to linger a little longer in Winship with them, hanging paper wishes from the rafters even after the final page.”Emily Bain Murphy, author of The Disappearances

“A striking examination of love—of friends, of family, of self—as well as of grief . . . This is a soft and lovely exploration of how life can freeze at the point of tragedy, and of a girl who learns to thaw.”Booklist (starred review)

“Surges with emotion. Sorosiak has created a family whom readers will connect with in all their messy, genuine sincerity.”Publishers Weekly

“Filled with science, summer camps and secrets, this is an uplifting and touching look at grief, guilt and giving yourself permission to love again.”Lauren James, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe

“A beautiful story.”Bustle

“This stunning novel about love, loss, and lake monsters is just the excuse you need to splurge on a summer must-read.”Brit + Co. 

Out with HarperTeen US & Macmillan UK, June 2018

Other languages so far: Spanish, German

 


IF BIRDS FLY BACK

Love is what happens when you’re looking for something else. 

IfBirdsFlyBack hi res

Linny has been fascinated by disappearances, ever since her sister Grace ran away in the middle of the night without saying goodbye. Sebastian can tell you how many galaxies there are, and knows how much plutonium weighs. But the one thing he can’t figure out is the identity of his birth father. They’ve never met, but Linny and Sebastian have one thing in common: an obsession with famous novelist and filmmaker Alvaro Herrera, who went missing three years ago and has just reappeared. As they learn more about the mystery of Alvaro, Linny and Sebastian uncover the answers they’ve been searching for. With humor and heart, debut author Carlie Sorosiak weaves a story of finding people who leave and loving those who stay, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Emery Lord.

A Most Anticipated June Release from B&N Teen Blog

Pan Macmillan’s One of the Best Children’s Books for Summer

One of the 10 Best New Young Adult Books in June 2017 from Paste Magazine

A Featured Summer Book from Lovereading4kids

A 2017 B.I.T. Pick at Changing Hands Bookstore

Nominated for an Epic Reads Book Shimmy Award, “Under the Radar” Category

“It’s the rarest author who can pull off laugh-out-loud hilarious, profound, and breathlessly romantic, all in the most sparkling prose. That shortlist includes Rainbow Rowell, Nicola Yoon, and now, Carlie Sorosiak.”Jeff Zentner, Morris Award-winning author of The Serpent King and Goodbye Days

 Available in the following countries: US + Canada (HarperTeen); United Kingdom + Commonwealth (Macmillan); Spain (Penguin Random House); Germany (Arena Verlag); China (21st Century Books); Sweden, Norway, Finland (Stabenfeldt)


 

A SAMPLING OF FOREIGN COVERS

Untitled design (12).jpg

 

Advertisements